Should You Cut Carbs for Weightloss – plus more answers to your questions!

One of the most common questions I get asked is “Should I cut out carbs to lose weight”?

Well, yes. And no. There’s a few good reasons as to why I think cutting carbs is a great idea which I have outlined in my latest Q&A video (see below). One of them being that many studies have shown that low carb diets don’t just reduce our waistlines, but also lower our blood glucose levels, blood pressure, LDL (“bad”) cholesterol patterns, as well as lower triglycerides. Looking at just these few, but very important reasons, is enough to consider reducing the amount of carbohydrates (especially refined carbohydrates) in our diet, HOWEVER, we do have to consider the individual when it comes to any type of “diet” or lifestyle choice.

ChildrenNeedCarbs

For example, someone who is diabetic will have completely different metabolic functioning compared to say, a marathon runner. Some people just tolerate carbohydrates much better than others and in their own right are more suited to a higher carb diet. Others however may function much better on a higher fat/protein and low carb diet. Why do you think there is so much debate?! Everyone experiences such differing results from various dietary choices, but yet it is not uncommon to hear and see comments across social media which basically read “____ diet works best for me so therefore I know best and this is the best diet for weight loss for everyone on the planet, and all you guys are wrong as I have also completed one online nutrition certificate and can loosely call myself a nutritionist”. You catch my drift?

My point is, everyone is different. What works for you may not work for another person. At the end of the day, more whole foods and less refined packaged crap will most likely help you get on the weight loss train.

Take a look at the video for more info. Here I also cover counting calories, sugar substitutes and fish oil supplements. Let me know if you have any questions and I can cover them in the next video!

 

Emily x

Leave a Reply

