Is There Food On My Face? Avocado, Cacao and Honey Face Mask

Natural skin care is so important to me, and it’s no surprise why when you think about how many toxins our skin comes into contact with over the course of a day. Every day we expose our skin to a number of chemicals such as exhaust, pollution, cigarette smoke, household cleaners, and especially chemicals from make up applied directly to our face. Even well known supermarket brands that claim to “cleanse” and “purify” our skin contain toxic substances including preservatives, additives, perfumes and dyes that can be harmful to our skin. (For more information on what to look out for in your beauty products, click here). I try to look after my skin using natural skin care as much as possible, but every now and then I like to give my face some extra TLC. The other day my skin was feeling (and looking) particularly dull and dry so I took the opportunity to see what was in the kitchen to create another “Is There Food On My Face” beauty mask. If you haven’t come across this section on my blog or Facebook yet, I basically mush up superfoods, slap them on my face and take a selfie…as you do :-). What I created the other day is seriously good. Not only is it amazing for the skin, but boy does it taste incredible!!! I must say I gave myself a big pat on the back when I experimented with this recipe as it works so well as both a moisturizing face mask and also a healthy mousse-like dessert! I can honestly say my skin felt like silk after I used this mask and I could really notice a visible difference. Try it for yourself and I can promise your skin will love you for it!

Raw Honey and Organic Cacao Powder

The avocado in this recipe works to reduce inflammation and soften and moisturize the skin while the cacao powder and manukau honey stimulate circulation and contain powerful antioxidants which helps to tone the sign and prevent signs of aging. Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Ripe Avocado
  • 1 tablespoon Organic Cacao powder
  • 1 tablespoon Raw Honey
Blend all the ingredients!

Blend all the ingredients together until smooth. Apply to your face avoiding the delicate eye area and leave for 15-20 minutes. Rinse off with warm water.

Avocado, Cacao and Honey Face Mask!
Avocado, Cacao and Honey Face Mask!

 

Leave a Reply

