The Best Birthday Present Ever

It was my birthday last week and I must say I was EXTREMELY spoiled by my workmates, friends and family. Among my gifts I received was a brand new Breville Froojie Juice Fountain! I have wanted a juicer for quite sometime now, and while I am a big fan of smoothies for a healthy breakfast and extra fibre, I was ready to try something new and get a bit more serious in my kitchen. I am a huge advocate for juice cleansing, and now that I have my own juicer I am so excited that I can do this any time I like! If you don’t know the benefits of juice cleansing, or are looking to do a juice cleanse in New Zealand, head over to Pure Health Delivered and check out their range of alkalizing cleanses and find out why it is so beneficial for our health.

My decorated office!

On Saturday morning, I headed off to my local Farmers Market to buy some fresh organic produce. It is always best when juicing to try and source organic fruit and veges to avoid ingesting any pesticides. Many people complain that this can be expensive, however if you buy in season and locally at Farmers Markets, this can work out a lot cheaper! My motto is always “don’t let the best be the enemy of the good”, so if you can’t buy organic, don’t stress! A homemade spray of apple cider vinegar and water can help to remove some pesticides from produce –  I’ll put up a how to tutorial on this soon.

My Farmers Market Purchases!

After the Farmers Market (and a lovely coffee), I raced home to try out my new juicer! First on the menu was one of my favourite combos: Beetroot, carrot, apple, lemon and ginger. I also added some celery in since it was such a cheap buy at the market, and the result was delicious.

Prepped Fruit and Veges for Juicing!

This juice is an amazing alkalizer for your body and a great liver tonic helping to remove toxins that have accumulated there from the body. It is also packed with vitamin A, C and powerful phytonutrients that help the body fight off free radicals and if consumed regularly, will give your skin an amazing glow! With the added ginger and lemon, this juice is the perfect winter pick me up, helping to boost immunity and flush out unwanted toxins. Ingredients:

  • 4 medium sized carrots
  • 1 large beetroot
  • 1 granny smith apple
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 inch sized piece of ginger

Pop all ingredients into the juicer and enjoy immediately! Be warned: Beetroot will stain! I advise to wear an apron or clothing that you don’t care too much about just incase.

Enjoying the finished product!

 

Leave a Reply

