INTERVIEW: JAIME RIDGE

Photo from http://www.tv3.co.nz

Jaime Ridge is NZ’s new it girl. Juggling modeling, university, training for (and winning) a boxing match, and with her new reality TV show The Ridges about to start, Jaime has been one busy 19 year old this year. I was lucky enough to have some of her time to chat about her diet and exercise and find out the secret to how she stays in such great shape.

How important is diet and exercise to your lifestyle?

Diet and exercise are extremely important to me. Living a healthy and active lifestyle has been a part of my life since I can remember.

What does your usual diet consist of?

Usually I will have a ½ portion of muesli, fruit and trim milk for breakfast. A seared tuna salad with lettuce, beans, capers and lemon juice [for lunch]. Then a piece of fruit in the afternoon. For dinner I usually have fish or chicken with grilled vegetables and salad (sometimes a small amount of whole grain pasta). I also drink a lot of tea, green tea, peppermint tea and English breakfast (and love a bit of bran muffin or home baking!!!)

How did you prepare for your fight with Rosanna Arkle? What did you have to change in your diet to make sure you could perform at your best?

I had to start eating bigger meals and more carbs when I was training for the fight in order for me to have enough energy to perform at my best and get the most out of training. Before the fight (at the last minute) I had to cut down and loose quite a lot of weight in a short amount of time, which was extremely challenging and took an extreme toll on my body and mental state, I would not recommend it to anyone.

What do you do to stay in shape? Do you have a specific exercise routine?

I still do 2-3 boxing training / cross fit at Boxing Alley with Monty and then I train at Next Generation nearly everyday and I also do Hot Yoga about 2-3 times a week. I have a specific program I do at Next Gen.

What is your cheat food that you cannot go without?

Baking…I LOVE bran muffins and chocolate…I have an extreme sweet tooth.

The media now has a huge influence on our body image and self-esteem. What would be your advice to other young women on dieting and exercise?

My advice would be everything in moderation, and to be realistic about your diet and exercise. There is no point on going extreme on diet and exercise regime for a period of time and then later dropping it all, consistency is key. Also don’t get to hung up on it, as the more you think about it the harder it is. Make healthy eating and dieting part of your daily routine so it then becomes a habit.

 

Make sure you check out The Ridges premiering on Wednesday September 12, 7:30pm on TV3. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

